Healthy, Low Calorie French Toast with Blueberry Topping

This morning I wanted to wake up and try out Body Pump, BUT I slept through my alarm. So instead! I used my time to make some french toast. YUMMM. It really was quick and simple but delicious and healthy!

 

Ingredients:

2 Eggs 1/4 Cup Non-Fat Milk
1/4 Teaspoon Cinnamon 1/4 Teaspoon Vanilla

Directions:

1. Mix up all of the ingredients in a flat pan.

 

2. Allow the two slices of toast to soak up the egg mixture and place the slices on a greased, pre-heated griddle at medium heat.

 

3. Flip the french toast over after about 2 minutes. It should be nicely browned.

 

Once the second side has browned, you are done!

For the blueberry topping, take a 1/2 cup of frozen blueberries and put them in the microwave for a minute. Out pops a delicious blueberry topping! It’s that easy!

 

Now, for a fun French Toast story…because I get reminded of it EVERY time I eat french toast.

When I was in college, I was hanging out with my roommates on the futon watching Jersey Shore while eating some french toast. In the middle of putting a bite into my mouth, I posed the question, “Where do you think french toast came from? I mean…who would have thought about soaking toast in an egg and putting it on the stove?”

They both laughed at me. And Kaitlin responds, “France! Duh!’

I know, insightful. But upon forcing a response out of Kaitlin, she ends up coming up with the story of some poor French farmers that only had eggs and toast. They got bored with just eating eggs and toast and they just decided to combine the two!

Claire…thought this was hilarious. She posted it on facebook expecting a huge laugh from people, which it got. BUT! all of my friends know, I am the google queen. I google EVERYTHING. And google confirmed our story! It was in fact true!

Although they didn’t exactly get bored with bread and eggs, they used the eggs to mask the fact that the bread had gone stale. Ingenious I think.

A little tuesday night trivia for ya!

This evening, for training I headed to the gym because I missed the body pump this morning and jumped in on a cycling class.

 

I love cycling. I have been going to the classes on and off for almost 4 years now and can’t seem to kick the habit. I did try riding on the road about two years ago with an epic fail. I refurbished my dad’s old bike from when he was my age, and jumped right on. Let’s just say, the saying about always knowing how to ride a bike….it’s not so true in my case.

I’ll save the stories for another day, but I still have the scars from that summer to prove I really did give it a solid try!

The classes are fantastic. You don’t need the cycling shoes to do it. I always find that they are one of the best classes to go to when you are feeling really unmotivated at the gym. There’s nothing like a guy staring at you telling you to peddle faster to get you going!

Any good cycling stories out there?

Leave a comment